Central Bedfordshire: which contracts run out next, and who holds them.
Central Bedfordshire is a unitary authority in the East of England. We hold 827 of its award notices, 56 contracts due to end within 18 months, and 9 committee papers from the last 120 days that talk about buying. Everything here comes from public records: award notices the council itself published, and the papers it publishes before each committee meeting.
Data updated: 20 September 2026 (committee papers) | 18 September 2026 (award notices)
GovLeads reads Central Bedfordshire's papers every weeknight. A value is published on 549 of those 827 award notices, so the total is a floor, not the council's spend.
Next committee meetings
The next 5 scheduled meetings at Central Bedfordshire, taken from the council's own calendar. Papers usually appear five clear working days beforehand, and we read them the night they land.
| Date | Committee |
|---|---|
| 21 Sep 2026 | Landlord Assurance Board |
| 21 Sep 2026 | Schools Forum |
| 22 Sep 2026 | Audit Committee |
| 23 Sep 2026 | Development Management Committee |
| 24 Sep 2026 | Full Council |
Source: Central Bedfordshire's published committee calendar.
Biggest suppliers
Ranked by total awarded value across every Central Bedfordshire award notice we hold. Values on multi-supplier frameworks are shared across the suppliers named on them, so a place on a large framework does not inflate a single firm.
| Supplier | Awarded value | Awards |
|---|---|---|
| Milestone Infrastructure Limited | £250m | 3 |
| Farrans Construction trading as a division of Northstone (NI) LI | £63.1m | 3 |
| Matrix SCM | £35.2m | 1 |
| Medequip Assistive Technology Ltd | £16.0m | 2 |
| Spacemaker Developments Ltd | £13.6m | 5 |
Largest awards of the last 12 months
The biggest awards Central Bedfordshire has notified in the last year. Awards sharing a title and end date are collapsed into a single row, so a framework or dynamic purchasing system appears once rather than once per supplier.
| Award | Supplier | Value | Route |
|---|---|---|---|
| CBC-1795-T-TS Domestic and Communal Electrical Installation - AWARD | DHE Group | £4.7m | Restricted |
| CBC-1212-FC-SK - Construction Lot 2 Priory View Cladding Project - AWARD | Borras Construction | £1.8m | Restricted |
| CBC-1984-EXF-DA-ZH Electronic Care Monitoring System - AWARD | Access UK Ltd | £960,000 | Other |
| CBC-1783-T-TS Community Alarms 2026-28 - Lot 1: Monitoring and Response and Call Handling Lot 2… | Careium UK Limited | £500,000 | Open |
| GB-Bedford: TPPL Central Bedfordshire BNES Bus Lot 3 - 4 x 16 Seat Coachbuilt Minibuses (27643) | Treka Bus Limited | £426,000 | Not specified |
How the money is awarded
91% of Central Bedfordshire's awarded value went through open competition and 0% was awarded directly. Directly awarded work is the part of the market that never reaches a competitive notice, so it is the part you have to see coming upstream.
- Competed 91% (£455m)
- Other/Unspecified 9% (£45.3m)
- Framework/DPS under 1% (£177,584)
- Direct 0% (not stated)
Contracts expiring within 18 months
The 5 largest by value on record for Central Bedfordshire, of those with an end date inside 18 months. A re-procurement decision normally reaches a committee months before the contract itself runs out, which is the point at which scope is still moveable, so the months-left column matters as much as the value.
| Ends | Months left | Contract | Supplier | Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2 Jan 2028 | 15 | CBC-1700-FW-TS Roof renewal, repairs and associated works for Housing Services - AWARD | M&J Group (Construction & Roofing) Ltd | £3.5m |
| 11 Feb 2027 | 4 | CBC-1617-T-LS Support for Afghan Resettlement - AWARD | King's Arms Project | £3.0m |
| 1 Mar 2027 | 5 | CBC-1212-FC-SK - Construction Lot 2 Priory View Cladding Project - AWARD | Borras Construction | £1.8m |
| 31 Jul 2027 | 10 | CBC-1655-T-TS Catering Services - Greenleas School - AWARD | Herts Catering Ltd | £951,292 |
| 31 Mar 2027 | 6 | CBC-1636-T-LS IDVA (Independent Domestic Violence Advocacy Service) - CORE - High Risk… | Victim Support | £828,896 |
51 more Central Bedfordshire contracts expire by 20 March 2028. Start a free trial to see them.
Procurement radar
Committee papers Central Bedfordshire published in the last four months whose title uses the language of buying: a tender, an award, an extension, a gateway report, a waiver, or a procurement strategy, policy or performance report. It is a title match, so the odd paper lands here on a word rather than a decision.
| Meeting | Paper | Committee |
|---|---|---|
| 2 Jun 2026 | Procurement and Award of Contract for Repairs and Void works in Council Owned HomesFollowing the tendering process, including appropriate evaluation of the tenders, the contract award will be made by the Director of Adult Social Care and Housing in consultation with the Executive Member for Assets, Business and Housing, the Director of Resources,… | Executive |
| 4 Aug 2026 | Managed Security Services Contract ProcurementProcurement will conduct a procurement option analysis to determine whether this will be procured via an established framework (either via direct award or further competition) or a bespoke open tender or competitive flexible procedure. | Executive |
| 2 Jun 2026 | Approval to procure adult social care servicesFor the Mental Health Prevention Service, procurement options will include open tender or direct award. | Executive |
| 4 Aug 2026 | Procurement and Award of Asbestos Surveys, Re Inspections and Remedial Works Contract within Co…This risk will be managed through a competitive procurement process, robust tender evaluation and ongoing contract management. | Executive |
| 4 Aug 2026 | Procurement of Security ServicesExecutive are asked to approve the proposed approach and commencement of procurement as set out in this report and to delegate authority to the Director of Adult Social Care and Housing Director of Resources and Organisational Change in consultation with… | Executive |
| 4 Aug 2026 | Budget Framework 2027/28Social Care Placements: Whilst commissioning teams lead on these, Service area can work with Procurement to introduce and test the viability of commercial models, such as Open Book Accounting, to gain visibility of provider cost structures. | Executive |
| 10 Sep 2026 | 260910 App A - Highway Asset Management FrameworkThis framework, the Highways Asset Management Strategy and Policy will be adopted by Executive. | Sustainable Communities Overview & Scrutiny Committee |
Showing the 7 strongest matches of 9. This is the raw feed, not the brief: a subscriber gets the handful that match their business, scored, with the so-what written out. Start a free trial.
Nearby councils
Suppliers rarely sell to one council alone. These are the authorities next door, and the ones covering the same ground at a different tier.
Councils it borders
Where Central Bedfordshire spends most
The service areas taking the largest share of awarded value here. Each one has its own page explaining what we watch for.
Where this comes from
Awards, suppliers and expiry dates come from award notices published to Contracts Finder and Find a Tender by Central Bedfordshire. The award data set was last refreshed on 18 September 2026, so notices published since then are not yet counted here. Values are as notified; where a notice names several suppliers, the value is shared across them.
Committee papers and meeting dates come from Central Bedfordshire's own published papers, at https://centralbeds.moderngov.co.uk. Every paper linked above is on the council's own site. Committee-paper figures were extracted on 20 September 2026.
What we leave out. A notice naming more than one buying authority is excluded, because it does not say how the value splits between them. So are notices from bodies that share this council's name but are separate organisations, such as the local college or NHS trust. Both would otherwise be counted here as Central Bedfordshire's.
Nothing on this page is modelled, estimated or inferred. Every number is a count or a sum over those two public sources. Where a figure would be a guess, it is left out.