Cheshire West and Chester Council: which contracts run out next, and who holds them.
Cheshire West and Chester Council is a unitary authority in the North West. We hold 982 of its award notices, 83 contracts due to end within 18 months, and 3 committee papers from the last 120 days that talk about buying. Everything here comes from public records: award notices the council itself published, and the papers it publishes before each committee meeting.
Data updated: 20 September 2026 (committee papers) | 18 September 2026 (award notices)
GovLeads reads Cheshire West and Chester Council's papers every weeknight. A value is published on 850 of those 982 award notices, so the total is a floor, not the council's spend.
Next committee meetings
The next 5 scheduled meetings at Cheshire West and Chester Council, taken from the council's own calendar. Papers usually appear five clear working days beforehand, and we read them the night they land.
| Date | Committee |
|---|---|
| 22 Sep 2026 | People Overview and Scrutiny Committee |
| 23 Sep 2026 | Health and Wellbeing Board |
| 23 Sep 2026 | Staffing Committee |
| 1 Oct 2026 | Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee |
| 6 Oct 2026 | Licensing Act (Hearings) Sub-Committee |
Source: Cheshire West and Chester Council's published committee calendar.
Biggest suppliers
Ranked by total awarded value across every Cheshire West and Chester Council award notice we hold. Values on multi-supplier frameworks are shared across the suppliers named on them, so a place on a large framework does not inflate a single firm.
| Supplier | Awarded value | Awards |
|---|---|---|
| Vinci Construction UK Ltd | £108m | 3 |
| Multiple Providers | £100m | 1 |
| Equans Services Ltd | £90.0m | 2 |
| Comensura | £64.0m | 2 |
| Kier Construction Ltd | £35.7m | 3 |
Largest awards of the last 12 months
The biggest awards Cheshire West and Chester Council has notified in the last year. Awards sharing a title and end date are collapsed into a single row, so a framework or dynamic purchasing system appears once rather than once per supplier.
| Award | Supplier | Value | Route |
|---|---|---|---|
| Highways Structures Programme6 award notices, shown once | framework, 6 suppliers | £25.2m | Direct award |
| GB-Chester: TPPL Cheshire West and Chester Council NEPO GM & P Lot 2 - 5 x 18t Four-Wheeled Mat… | Watling JCB Limited | £992,570 | Not specified |
| Material Handlers Purchase NEPO214 | Watling JCB Ltd | £992,570 | Open |
| GB-Chester: TPPL Cheshire West and Chester Council NEPO HGV Lot 1 - 4 x DAF 32t Hookloaders (28… | Motus Commercials HGV | £705,175 | Not specified |
| Hook Loaders Purchase NEPO224 | Motus Commercial | £705,175 | Open |
How the money is awarded
78% of Cheshire West and Chester Council's awarded value went through open competition and 8% was awarded directly. Directly awarded work is the part of the market that never reaches a competitive notice, so it is the part you have to see coming upstream.
- Competed 78% (£502m)
- Other/Unspecified 15% (£94.8m)
- Direct 8% (£49.8m)
Contracts expiring within 18 months
The 5 largest by value on record for Cheshire West and Chester Council, of those with an end date inside 18 months. A re-procurement decision normally reaches a committee months before the contract itself runs out, which is the point at which scope is still moveable, so the months-left column matters as much as the value.
| Ends | Months left | Contract | Supplier | Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 Apr 2027 | 7 | Temporary Agency Staff (CF162) | Comensura Limited | £32.0m |
| 3 Jul 2027 | 9 | Home to School, Phase 8.1, 8 seats and under11 award notices, shown once | framework, 11 suppliers | £19.8m |
| 31 May 2027 | 8 | Starting Well 2025- 2027 | Cheshire and Wirral NHS Partnership Trust | £11.4m |
| 31 Dec 2027 | 15 | City Walls Repairs | Balfour Beatty Civil Engineering Limited | £3.0m |
| 9 Nov 2026 | 1 | Hybrid Mail Solution | Paragon Customer Communications (London) Ltd | £2.5m |
78 more Cheshire West and Chester Council contracts expire by 20 March 2028. Start a free trial to see them.
Procurement radar
Committee papers Cheshire West and Chester Council published in the last four months whose title uses the language of buying: a tender, an award, an extension, a gateway report, a waiver, or a procurement strategy, policy or performance report. It is a title match, so the odd paper lands here on a word rather than a decision.
| Meeting | Paper | Committee |
|---|---|---|
| 15 Jul 2026 | Report to Cabinet - HCP CommissionThe total additional investment of £0.980m in the HCP recommission will be funded from the Public Health Grant, utilising funding released from no longer funding the children’s centre core offer (£0.780m) and no longer making the proposed savings (£200k). | Cabinet |
| 10 Jun 2026 | Report to Cabinet - All Age Smart Support Commission…Director of Children and Families and Cabinet members for Adult Social Care and Children and Young People, to undertake all necessary actions for the implementation of the commissioning process, including authority to award the contract following the competitive tender exercise. | Cabinet |
| 15 Jul 2026 | Appendices A-E - Healthy Child Programme Commission | Cabinet |
This is the raw feed, not the brief: a subscriber gets only the items that match their business, scored, with the so-what written out. Start a free trial.
Nearby councils
Suppliers rarely sell to one council alone. These are the authorities next door, and the ones covering the same ground at a different tier.
Councils it borders
Where Cheshire West and Chester Council spends most
The service areas taking the largest share of awarded value here. Each one has its own page explaining what we watch for.
Where this comes from
Awards, suppliers and expiry dates come from award notices published to Contracts Finder and Find a Tender by Cheshire West and Chester. The award data set was last refreshed on 18 September 2026, so notices published since then are not yet counted here. Values are as notified; where a notice names several suppliers, the value is shared across them.
Committee papers and meeting dates come from Cheshire West and Chester Council's own published papers, at https://cmttpublic.cheshirewestandchester.gov.uk. Every paper linked above is on the council's own site. Committee-paper figures were extracted on 20 September 2026.
What we leave out. A notice naming more than one buying authority is excluded, because it does not say how the value splits between them. So are notices from bodies that share this council's name but are separate organisations, such as the local college or NHS trust. Both would otherwise be counted here as Cheshire West and Chester's.
Nothing on this page is modelled, estimated or inferred. Every number is a count or a sum over those two public sources. Where a figure would be a guess, it is left out.