Newcastle upon Tyne: its biggest suppliers, and what it is buying next.
Newcastle upon Tyne is a metropolitan borough in the North East. We hold 847 of its award notices, 41 contracts due to end within 18 months, and 4 committee papers from the last 120 days that talk about buying. Everything here comes from public records: award notices the council itself published, and the papers it publishes before each committee meeting.
Data updated: 20 September 2026 (committee papers) | 18 September 2026 (award notices)
GovLeads reads Newcastle upon Tyne's papers every weeknight. A value is published on 416 of those 847 award notices, so the total is a floor, not the council's spend.
Next committee meetings
The next 5 scheduled meetings at Newcastle upon Tyne, taken from the council's own calendar. Papers usually appear five clear working days beforehand, and we read them the night they land.
| Date | Committee |
|---|---|
| 21 Sep 2026 | Cabinet |
| 21 Sep 2026 | Regulatory and Appeals Sub-Committee |
| 23 Sep 2026 | Gosforth Ward Committee |
| 24 Sep 2026 | Corporate Parent Advisory Committee |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Tyne and Wear Fire and Rescue Authority |
Biggest suppliers
Ranked by total awarded value across every Newcastle upon Tyne award notice we hold. Values on multi-supplier frameworks are shared across the suppliers named on them, so a place on a large framework does not inflate a single firm.
| Supplier | Awarded value | Awards |
|---|---|---|
| STARK BUILDING MATERIALS UK LIMITED (T/A Jewson) | £66.0m | 2 |
| A&J Keith Ltd | £43.0m | 12 |
| BBS (Brick and Stone) Ltd | £20.7m | 2 |
| Novus Property Solutions Limited | £15.7m | 4 |
| Esh Construction Limited | £15.7m | 4 |
Largest awards of the last 12 months
The biggest awards Newcastle upon Tyne has notified in the last year. Awards sharing a title and end date are collapsed into a single row, so a framework or dynamic purchasing system appears once rather than once per supplier.
| Award | Supplier | Value | Route |
|---|---|---|---|
| Traffic Signals - Maintenance, Repair & Inspection | Telent Technology Services Limited | £3.5m | Framework call-off |
| Specialist Drug and Alcohol Carers Service | PROPS North East | £1.5m | Open |
| GB-Tyne: TPPL Newcastle City Council NEPO HGV Lot 1 - 7 x 7.5t & 4 x 11t Food Waste Vehicles (2… | Ford and Slater Ltd | £1.3m | Not specified |
| GB-Tyne: TPPL Newcastle City Council NEPO Fleet Ancillaries Lot 2 - Supply of Tyres for an init… | McConechys Tyre Service Limited (Lodge Tyres) | £1.2m | Not specified |
| Traffic Management for NUFC | Hatton Traffic Management Limited | £820,814 | Restricted |
How the money is awarded
81% of Newcastle upon Tyne's awarded value went through open competition and under 1% was awarded directly. Directly awarded work is the part of the market that never reaches a competitive notice, so it is the part you have to see coming upstream.
- Competed 81% (£493m)
- Framework/DPS 10% (£60.6m)
- Other/Unspecified 8% (£51.3m)
- Direct under 1% (£2.1m)
Contracts expiring within 18 months
The 5 largest by value on record for Newcastle upon Tyne, of those with an end date inside 18 months. A re-procurement decision normally reaches a committee months before the contract itself runs out, which is the point at which scope is still moveable, so the months-left column matters as much as the value.
| Ends | Months left | Contract | Supplier | Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 Mar 2027 | 6 | Kitchens - Supply and Fit Framework3 award notices, shown once | framework, 3 suppliers | £25.0m |
| 31 Mar 2027 | 6 | Bathroom-Supply & Fit3 award notices, shown once | framework, 3 suppliers | £22.0m |
| 1 Jul 2027 | 9 | Pottery Bank Phase 1A | Keepmoat Homes Ltd | £8.5m |
| 30 Oct 2026 | 1 | 007102 - Damp Proofing Framework | Mgm Ltd | £6.0m |
| 1 May 2027 | 7 | Plastering Framework | Total Construction NE Ltd | £6.0m |
36 more Newcastle upon Tyne contracts expire by 20 March 2028. Start a free trial to see them.
Procurement radar
Committee papers Newcastle upon Tyne published in the last four months whose title uses the language of buying: a tender, an award, an extension, a gateway report, a waiver, or a procurement strategy, policy or performance report. It is a title match, so the odd paper lands here on a word rather than a decision.
| Meeting | Paper | Committee |
|---|---|---|
| 20 Jul 2026 | 8.1 Apx 1 - commissioning principles…services reflect real needs and support whole-family and whole-system responses Equity and social Value We use commissioning and procurement as tools to tackle the social and economic conditions that drive inequality, embedding social value, fair work, sustainability and inclusion throughout. | Cabinet |
| 20 Jul 2026 | 8. Corp Commissioning principlesCabinet are asked to agree that the principles will underpin the Corporate Commissioning Procurement Strategy and be applied consistently across all commissioning activity. | Cabinet |
| 15 Jul 2026 | Amendment to NOM - Commissioners ScrappedThat the Government has announced its intention to abolish Police and Crime Commissioners (PCCs) from 2028. | City Council |
Showing the 3 strongest matches of 4. This is the raw feed, not the brief: a subscriber gets the handful that match their business, scored, with the so-what written out. Start a free trial.
Nearby councils
Suppliers rarely sell to one council alone. These are the authorities next door, and the ones covering the same ground at a different tier.
Councils it borders
Covering the same ground
Where Newcastle upon Tyne spends most
The service areas taking the largest share of awarded value here. Each one has its own page explaining what we watch for.
Where this comes from
Awards, suppliers and expiry dates come from award notices published to Contracts Finder and Find a Tender by Newcastle upon Tyne. The award data set was last refreshed on 18 September 2026, so notices published since then are not yet counted here. Values are as notified; where a notice names several suppliers, the value is shared across them.
Committee papers and meeting dates come from Newcastle upon Tyne's own published papers, at https://democracy.newcastle.gov.uk. Every paper linked above is on the council's own site. Committee-paper figures were extracted on 20 September 2026.
What we leave out. A notice naming more than one buying authority is excluded, because it does not say how the value splits between them. So are notices from bodies that share this council's name but are separate organisations, such as the local college or NHS trust. Both would otherwise be counted here as Newcastle upon Tyne's.
Nothing on this page is modelled, estimated or inferred. Every number is a count or a sum over those two public sources. Where a figure would be a guess, it is left out.