Councils

North East Combined Authority: contracts, suppliers and what is coming next.

North East Combined Authority is a combined authority in the North East. We hold 75 of its award notices, and 1 committee paper from the last 120 days that talk about buying. Everything here comes from public records: award notices the council itself published, and the papers it publishes before each committee meeting.

Data updated: 20 September 2026 (committee papers) | 18 September 2026 (award notices)

75
Award notices on record, 2021 to 2026
55
Distinct suppliers
£50.3m
Total awarded value, 2021 to 2026
48
Papers read in four months
3
Committees tracked

GovLeads reads North East Combined Authority's papers every weeknight. A value is published on 35 of those 75 award notices, so the total is a floor, not the council's spend.

Next committee meetings

The next 4 scheduled meetings at North East Combined Authority, taken from the council's own calendar. Papers usually appear five clear working days beforehand, and we read them the night they land.

Source: North East Combined Authority's published committee calendar.

Biggest suppliers

Ranked by total awarded value across every North East Combined Authority award notice we hold. Values on multi-supplier frameworks are shared across the suppliers named on them, so a place on a large framework does not inflate a single firm.

SupplierAwarded valueAwards
Children North East£1.7m2
Association of Education Advisers£1.6m1
Cedarwood Trust£1.6m1
Challenging Education Ltd£1.6m1
Groundwork North East£1.6m1

Largest awards of the last 12 months

The biggest awards North East Combined Authority has notified in the last year. Awards sharing a title and end date are collapsed into a single row, so a framework or dynamic purchasing system appears once rather than once per supplier.

AwardSupplierValueRoute
GB-Tyne: TPPL Nexus HCC Lot 2 - 3 x Welfare Van (25213)Ford Motor Co. Ltd Self Billing£140,261Not specified
GB-Tyne: TPPL Nexus HCC Lot 3 - 1 x 7.2t Arborist Tipper (28084)North East Truck & Van£77,409Not specified
Child Poverty Reduction Programme - Local Test and Learn Pilot - Baby BoxesThe Children Foundation Limitednot statedOpen
Cycle to Work SchemeGreen Commute Initiativenot statedDirect award
Nexus Backup and Recovery SolutionAkhter Computers Limitednot statedDirect award

How the money is awarded

99% of North East Combined Authority's awarded value went through open competition and 0% was awarded directly. Directly awarded work is the part of the market that never reaches a competitive notice, so it is the part you have to see coming upstream.

  • Competed 99% (£50.0m)
  • Other/Unspecified 1% (£313,817)
  • Direct 0% (not stated)

Contracts expiring within 18 months

No North East Combined Authority contract in our records carries an end date inside the next 18 months. End dates are only published on some notices, so this is a floor rather than a complete picture.

Procurement radar

Committee papers North East Combined Authority published in the last four months whose title uses the language of buying: a tender, an award, an extension, a gateway report, a waiver, or a procurement strategy, policy or performance report. It is a title match, so the odd paper lands here on a word rather than a decision.

1 of 48 papers, in North East Combined Authority’s own words
MeetingPaperCommittee
9 Jun 202610 The North East MSA Risk Management FrameworkReview, comment upon and approve the North East MSA’s Risk Management Framework.Cabinet

This is the raw feed, not the brief: a subscriber gets only the items that match their business, scored, with the so-what written out. Start a free trial.

Nearby councils

Suppliers rarely sell to one council alone. These are the authorities next door, and the ones covering the same ground at a different tier.

Councils it borders

Covering the same ground

Where North East Combined Authority spends most

The service areas taking the largest share of awarded value here. Each one has its own page explaining what we watch for.

Where this comes from

Awards, suppliers and expiry dates come from award notices published to Contracts Finder and Find a Tender by North East. The award data set was last refreshed on 18 September 2026, so notices published since then are not yet counted here. Values are as notified; where a notice names several suppliers, the value is shared across them.

Committee papers and meeting dates come from North East Combined Authority's own published papers, at https://northeast-ca.moderngov.co.uk. Every paper linked above is on the council's own site. Committee-paper figures were extracted on 20 September 2026.

What we leave out. A notice naming more than one buying authority is excluded, because it does not say how the value splits between them. So are notices from bodies that share this council's name but are separate organisations, such as the local college or NHS trust. Both would otherwise be counted here as North East's.

What is counted as the North East authority. The North of Tyne Combined Authority and the 2014 North East Combined Authority were both abolished on 7 May 2024 and this authority established in their place, taking their functions. Their award notices are counted here because there is no separate body left holding those contracts: a supplier on a North of Tyne contract now deals with this authority. Nexus, the Tyne and Wear passenger transport executive, transferred to it under the same order and is counted too.

Nothing on this page is modelled, estimated or inferred. Every number is a count or a sum over those two public sources. Where a figure would be a guess, it is left out.

Get North East Combined Authority in your inbox, before the tender.

Give us a work email. We reply the same working day to set up your free trial. No card, no commitment.