Councils

Swindon: its biggest suppliers, and what it is buying next.

Swindon is a unitary authority in the South West. We hold 311 of its award notices, and 23 contracts due to end within 18 months. Everything here comes from public records: award notices the council itself published, and the papers it publishes before each committee meeting.

Data updated: 20 September 2026 (committee papers) | 18 September 2026 (award notices)

311
Award notices on record, 2021 to 2026
205
Distinct suppliers
£360m
Total awarded value, 2021 to 2026
196
Papers read in four months
11
Committees tracked

GovLeads reads Swindon's papers every weeknight. A value is published on 215 of those 311 award notices, so the total is a floor, not the council's spend.

Next committee meetings

The next 5 scheduled meetings at Swindon, taken from the council's own calendar. Papers usually appear five clear working days beforehand, and we read them the night they land.

Source: Swindon's published committee calendar.

Biggest suppliers

Ranked by total awarded value across every Swindon award notice we hold. Values on multi-supplier frameworks are shared across the suppliers named on them, so a place on a large framework does not inflate a single firm.

SupplierAwarded valueAwards
Viridor Energy Limited£58.3m2
Liberata UK Limited£29.9m2
Connor Construction (South West) Ltd£29.1m4
Change Grow Live Services Ltd£20.8m2
Buckingham Group Contracting Ltd£18.4m2

Largest awards of the last 12 months

The biggest awards Swindon has notified in the last year. Awards sharing a title and end date are collapsed into a single row, so a framework or dynamic purchasing system appears once rather than once per supplier.

AwardSupplierValueRoute
Public Health Nursing Case Management Hosted Software as a Service TenderAccess UK Ltd£1.2mOpen
The appointment of a managing consultant to lead a whole house retrofit project to 106 homes wi…McBains Limited£710,333Open
Supply, Installation and Maintenance of Car Parking Equipment and removal and disposal of repla…Scheidt & Bachmann UK Ltd£660,365Restricted
Lot 1: Bus & Coach – Individual routes / bus services (public, education and social care transp…2 award notices, shown onceframework, 2 suppliersnot statedRestricted
Lot 2: Minibus - Individual routes (public and education transport)2 award notices, shown onceframework, 2 suppliersnot statedRestricted

How the money is awarded

97% of Swindon's awarded value went through open competition and 1% was awarded directly. Directly awarded work is the part of the market that never reaches a competitive notice, so it is the part you have to see coming upstream.

  • Competed 97% (£347m)
  • Other/Unspecified 2% (£7.7m)
  • Framework/DPS 1% (£2.6m)
  • Direct 1% (£2.3m)

Contracts expiring within 18 months

The 5 largest by value on record for Swindon, of those with an end date inside 18 months. A re-procurement decision normally reaches a committee months before the contract itself runs out, which is the point at which scope is still moveable, so the months-left column matters as much as the value.

EndsMonths leftContractSupplierValue
31 Dec 20263The supply and installation of domestic LD1 & LD2 and Environmental SensorsSureserve Fire & Electrical (formally Allied Protection)£10.5m
28 Feb 20275Supply and Installation of Roofs & Solar PanelsBreyer Group Plc£6.6m
2 Mar 20275Passive Fire Protection WorksIan Williams Limited£4.0m
30 Nov 202714Asbestos Surveys and Re InspectionsAcorn Analytical Services Limited£2.2m
30 Nov 202714Stock Condition Surveys and Associated ServicesCurrie & Brown UK Limited£1.9m

18 more Swindon contracts expire by 20 March 2028. Start a free trial to see them.

Procurement radar

Committee papers Swindon published in the last four months whose title uses the language of buying.

No procurement decision reached a committee here in the last four months. Swindon published 196 papers in that window and none of them is titled as a tender, an award, an extension or a waiver.

That is common and it is not a gap in our reading: most councils delegate day-to-day buying to officers, and only the larger decisions reach a committee with a paper to their name. The award notices above are the fuller record of what this council actually buys.

Nearby councils

Suppliers rarely sell to one council alone. These are the authorities next door, and the ones covering the same ground at a different tier.

Councils it borders

Where Swindon spends most

The service areas taking the largest share of awarded value here. Each one has its own page explaining what we watch for.

Where this comes from

Awards, suppliers and expiry dates come from award notices published to Contracts Finder and Find a Tender by Swindon. The award data set was last refreshed on 18 September 2026, so notices published since then are not yet counted here. Values are as notified; where a notice names several suppliers, the value is shared across them.

Committee papers and meeting dates come from Swindon's own published papers, at https://ww5.swindon.gov.uk/moderngov. Every paper linked above is on the council's own site. Committee-paper figures were extracted on 20 September 2026.

What we leave out. A notice naming more than one buying authority is excluded, because it does not say how the value splits between them. So are notices from bodies that share this council's name but are separate organisations, such as the local college or NHS trust. Both would otherwise be counted here as Swindon's.

Nothing on this page is modelled, estimated or inferred. Every number is a count or a sum over those two public sources. Where a figure would be a guess, it is left out.

Get Swindon in your inbox, before the tender.

Give us a work email. We reply the same working day to set up your free trial. No card, no commitment.