Councils

Welwyn Hatfield: contracts, suppliers and what is coming next.

Welwyn Hatfield is a district council in the East of England. We hold 75 of its award notices, 13 contracts due to end within 18 months, and 1 committee paper from the last 120 days that talk about buying. Everything here comes from public records: award notices the council itself published, and the papers it publishes before each committee meeting.

Data updated: 20 September 2026 (committee papers) | 18 September 2026 (award notices)

75
Award notices on record, 2021 to 2026
63
Distinct suppliers
£470,253
Total awarded value, 2021 to 2026
192
Papers read in four months
9
Committees tracked

GovLeads reads Welwyn Hatfield's papers every weeknight. A value is published on 3 of those 75 award notices, so the total is a floor, not the council's spend.

Next committee meetings

The next 5 scheduled meetings at Welwyn Hatfield, taken from the council's own calendar. Papers usually appear five clear working days beforehand, and we read them the night they land.

Source: Welwyn Hatfield's published committee calendar.

Biggest suppliers

Ranked by total awarded value across every Welwyn Hatfield award notice we hold. Values on multi-supplier frameworks are shared across the suppliers named on them, so a place on a large framework does not inflate a single firm.

SupplierAwarded valueAwards
ICB General Building and Civil Engineering Ltd£425,9531
Phase 2 Planning & Development Limited£22,5002
one51 ES Plastics (uk) Ltd T/A MGB Plastics£21,8007
Howden Joinery Limitednot stated2
Henderson & Taylor (Public Works) Limitednot stated2

Largest awards of the last 12 months

The biggest awards Welwyn Hatfield has notified in the last year. Awards sharing a title and end date are collapsed into a single row, so a framework or dynamic purchasing system appears once rather than once per supplier.

AwardSupplierValueRoute
WHC - ARTIFICIAL CHRISTMAS TREE - AWARDGala Lights Ltdnot statedOpen
WHC - Electrical pool cars. - AWARDCo-wheels Car Club Community Interest Companynot statedRestricted
WHC - Extensions to four properties to facilitate independent living - AWARDDsn Property Developments Limitednot statedOpen
WHC - Lift maintenance services - AWARDOmega Citylifts Services Ltdnot statedOpen
WHC - MINOR WORKS FOR NEIGHBOURHOOD IMPROVEMENT - AWARDSanper Construction LTDnot statedOpen

How the money is awarded

100% of Welwyn Hatfield's awarded value went through open competition and 0% was awarded directly. Directly awarded work is the part of the market that never reaches a competitive notice, so it is the part you have to see coming upstream.

  • Competed 100% (£470,253)
  • Direct 0% (not stated)
  • Other/Unspecified 0% (not stated)

Contracts expiring within 18 months

The 5 largest by value on record for Welwyn Hatfield, of those with an end date inside 18 months. A re-procurement decision normally reaches a committee months before the contract itself runs out, which is the point at which scope is still moveable, so the months-left column matters as much as the value.

EndsMonths leftContractSupplierValue
30 Sep 2026under 1WHC - Estate Services - AWARDBrasier Freeth LLPnot stated
10 Oct 2026under 1WHC - Supply of mowers - AWARDP Tuckwell Ltdnot stated
30 Nov 20262Collection and Disposal of Abandoned Vehicles - AWARDASM Auto Recyclingnot stated
30 Nov 20262WHC - Asbestos Consultant. - AWARDBrian Robinson Asbestos Consultingnot stated
1 Dec 20262WHC - ARTIFICIAL CHRISTMAS TREE - AWARDGala Lights Ltdnot stated

8 more Welwyn Hatfield contracts expire by 20 March 2028. Start a free trial to see them.

Procurement radar

Committee papers Welwyn Hatfield published in the last four months whose title uses the language of buying: a tender, an award, an extension, a gateway report, a waiver, or a procurement strategy, policy or performance report. It is a title match, so the odd paper lands here on a word rather than a decision.

1 of 192 papers, in Welwyn Hatfield’s own words
MeetingPaperCommittee
18 Jun 2026Procurement of Block Cleaning - CHP 18.6.26Further resident involvement will be through the Resident Panel, which will help agree performance standards and review tender submissions.Cabinet Housing Panel

This is the raw feed, not the brief: a subscriber gets only the items that match their business, scored, with the so-what written out. Start a free trial.

Nearby councils

Suppliers rarely sell to one council alone. These are the authorities next door, and the ones covering the same ground at a different tier.

Councils it borders

Covering the same ground

Where Welwyn Hatfield spends most

The service areas taking the largest share of awarded value here. Each one has its own page explaining what we watch for.

Where this comes from

Awards, suppliers and expiry dates come from award notices published to Contracts Finder and Find a Tender by Welwyn Hatfield. The award data set was last refreshed on 18 September 2026, so notices published since then are not yet counted here. Values are as notified; where a notice names several suppliers, the value is shared across them.

Committee papers and meeting dates come from Welwyn Hatfield's own published papers, at https://democracy.welhat.gov.uk. Every paper linked above is on the council's own site. Committee-paper figures were extracted on 20 September 2026.

What we leave out. A notice naming more than one buying authority is excluded, because it does not say how the value splits between them. So are notices from bodies that share this council's name but are separate organisations, such as the local college or NHS trust. Both would otherwise be counted here as Welwyn Hatfield's.

Nothing on this page is modelled, estimated or inferred. Every number is a count or a sum over those two public sources. Where a figure would be a guess, it is left out.

Get Welwyn Hatfield in your inbox, before the tender.

Give us a work email. We reply the same working day to set up your free trial. No card, no commitment.